Research /Publications

Articles, Blogs, Podcasts, and Research

Kelly, C., Logan, M., Russo, C., & Rzemyk, T. (2022). Violent Extremists and the Social Contract Theory. Police Chief Magazine (online). https://www.policechiefmagazine.org/violent-extremism-and-the-social-contract-theory/

Russo, C.M., Micholitsi, S., & Jones, M.D. (2022). Submission to “Call for Papers: Imagining a New U.S. National Security Act for the 21st century.” Announcement. Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs. Harvard Kennedy School. December 16, 2021.

Russo, C.M. (2021). Building Community Relations and Involvement for Policing. Published 15 October 2021. https://www.officer.com/training-careers/education/article/21233789/columbia-southern-university-building-community-relations-and-involvement-for-policing

 

Russo, C.M. & Rzemyk, T. (2021). Finding Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity in Policing. Police Chief Magazine. https://www.policechiefmagazine.org/finding-equity-inclusion-and-diversity-in-policing/

 

Russo, C.M. (2021). Ethically Using Data Mining in Law Enforcement. Police Magazine.  

https://digital.policemag.com/publication/?m=61241&i=699667&p=16

 

Reinhold, Derek; Russo, Charles M.; and Eisenfeld, Beth. "Analytical Standards in the Intelligence Community: Are Standards Professionalized Enough?." Journal of Strategic Security 14, no. 1 (2021): 106-121. DOI: https://doi.org/10.5038/1944-0472.14.1.1923

 

Russo, C.M. & Harte, B. (2022). Intelligence Curricula Design: Scholar or Practitioner Based Approach. Currently in editing, anticipated draft for publication to a peer-reviewed journal, September 2022.

 

Russo, C. M. & Campbell, A.G. (2020). 25 Years of Lone Offenders in America. http://csesjournal.columbiasouthern.edu/2020/09/28/25-years-of-lone-offenders-in-america/

 

Russo, C. M. (2020, September 28). Crime Analysts and Intelligence Analysts. http://csesjournal.columbiasouthern.edu/2020/09/28/crime-analysts-and-intelligence-analysts/

 

Russo, C. M. (2020). Ethics of Data Mining Using Artificial Intelligence (IA) in Law Enforcement. Submitted and publication in December 2020. https://www.policechiefmagazine.org/

 

Russo, C. M. (2020, August 5). Ethics in Law Enforcement and Intelligence. Columbia Southern University. http://csesjournal.columbiasouthern.edu/2020/08/05/345/

Russo, C.M. & Straight, B., (2019, October 2). “The Ukrainian Phone Call Whistleblower” https://youtu.be/LRalGnLjN5o

 

Russo, C.M. & Straight, B., (2019, September 6). “Meet Your Associate Dean Series: Dr. Charles Russo”

https://youtu.be/EWnE_e7LwCU

Russo, C.M. & Straight, B., (2019, July 28). "The Gilroy Garlic Festival Shooting - Podcast" https://youtu.be/KBqZok0wNLo

 

Russo, C.M. (2018, December 10). “Studying the Ethics of Criminal Justice Students.” https://www.policeone.com/police-jobs-and-careers/articles/482329006-Studying-the-ethics-ofcriminal-justice-students/

 

Russo, C. (2018, November 27). “Criminal Justice Students and the Reasons behind their Ethics.” https://onlinelearningtips.com/2018/11/criminal-justice-students-ethics/

 

Russo, C. (2018, October 23). “Studying the Ethics of Criminal Justice Students.” https://inpublicsafety.com/2018/10/studying-the-ethics-of-criminal-justice-students/

 

Russo, C. M. (2018). Influence of Individual and Socio-Cultural Characteristics on Ethical Decision-Making Among Students. https://pqdtopen.proquest.com/pubnum/10845349.html

Russo, C. and Spaulding, J. (2018, August 8). “Differences Between a Criminal Justice and Homeland Security Degrees.” https://inhomelandsecurity.com/amu-homeland-security-degrees/

 

Russo, C. (2018, August 8). “Differences Between a Criminal Justice and Homeland Security Degrees.” https://inpublicsafety.com/2018/08/differences-between-a-criminal-justice-and-homeland-securitydegree/

 

Russo, C. (2018, May 16). “Searching Open Source Material in the Age of Information.” https://inpublicsafety.com/2018/05/searching-open-source-material-in-the-age-of-information/

 

Russo, C. (2018, April 25). “How Intelligence Analysts Can Improve Critical Thinking and Writing Skills.” https://inhomelandsecurity.com/writing-thinking-intelligence-analysts/

 

Russo, C. (2018, April 24). How Intelligence Analysts Can Improve Critical Thinking and Writing Skills. https://inpublicsafety.com/2018/04/how-intelligence-analysts-can-improve-writing-and-thinkingskills/

 

Russo, C. (2018, March 23). “Aspiring Intelligence Analysts: Are you Ready?” https://inpublicsafety.com/2018/03/aspiring-intelligence-analysts-are-you-ready/

 

Russo, C. (March 2018). “Are Students Ready to be Intelligence Analysts?” https://www.intelligencecareerservices.com/are-students-ready-to-be-intelligence-analysts/

 

Russo, C. (December 2017). “Notes for Seniors Graduating in Spring 2018” https://www.intelligencecareerservices.com/notes-for-seniors-graduating-in-spring-2018/

 

Russo, C. (2017, April 16). “A Case for Investigating the Characteristics that Influence Ethical DecisionMaking of Criminal Justice Students.

https://www.academia.edu/s/3e54740317/a-case-forinvestigating-the-characteristics-that-influence-ethical-decision-making-of-criminal-justicestudents?source=link

 

Russo, C., (July 2017). “Your Resume, but have YOU read it?” https://www.intelligencecareerservices.com/your-resume-but-have-you-read-it/

 

Russo, C., (July 2017). “The Importance of Finding the Right Internship” https://www.intelligencecareerservices.com/find-the-right-internship/

Russo, C., (March 2017). “The Demand for IC and HLS Jobs-What are the Skilled Needed?” http://www.intelligencecareerservices.com/the-demand-for-ic-and-hls-jobs-what-are-the-skillsneeded/

 

American Military University., (March 2016). “How Ethical Are Criminal Justice Students?” http://inpublicsafety.com/2016/03/ethical-criminal-justice-students/

 

Primary Blog Contributor May 2011 - January 2012 American Public University/American Military University, Terrorism Analysis and Homeland Defense: website: www.inhomelandsecurity.com

 

Leader, S. and Russo, C. (2005, August). Ripples in the Pond. The Journal of Counter-terrorism and Homeland Security International. Published by the International Association of Counter-terrorism and Security Professionals (IACSP).